10 Reasons Why Traveling Makes You A Better Person

Standard

There’s nothing better than learning to be alone, if you haven’t done so. You will learn to appreciate even the littlest things, the littlest gestures and kindness around you. For me, I get to do things my way and I don’t have to rush. I take things slow and enjoy everything I don’t get to see in my own country. Whilst most female travelers worry about safety, I believe that Allah is always with me wherever I go. But that does not mean I do not take precaution measures.

Travel alone. It’ll not only clear your mind, it’ll cleanse your soul.

Thought Catalog

If you have the opportunity to pack your bags and go, do it. Go alone if you have to.

Don’t do it for vacation. Don’t do it for luxury. Don’t do it to take pictures for your Instagram account. Do it because it will make you a better person.

And here’s why:

Screen Shot 2013-10-24 at 11.37.43 AM

1. Learning to be alone.

Have lunch with yourself. Sit with your thoughts and be okay with them, whatever they are. Love yourself whole-heartedly, especially in times of solitude. And when you think you can’t sit alone any longer, order coffee and a dessert.

2. Relying on the kindness of strangers.

Foreignness does not prevent random acts of kindness. Accept them. Give them. Appreciate them.

3. Learning to live with less.

This does not mean claiming hardship. Let this manifest in small ways. Recognize your…

View original post 234 more words

Leave a Reply

